Congress finalises candidates for rural polls, list likely on Thursday

Published on By prameyanews7 (author)

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) president Prasad Harichandan on Tuesday said that the PCC Election Committee has approved the list of candidates for the ensuing panchayat elections to be held from February 13.

 “We are united and would fight the panchayat election battle unitedly. The Election Committee has given its nod on the block and district level candidates’ list. The final list will be released in a day or two,” said Harichandan after chairing the meeting. 

Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra, who was part of the committee, said the list will be out in a day or two.

A meeting of the PCC Election Committee was held at the Congress Bhavan here to discuss the names of potential candidates for all 853 Zilla Parishad seats of the State for the ensuing panchayat elections.

The meeting was attended by the party’s leaders like Pradesh Congress Committee president Prasad Harichandan, senior party leader and Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra, former PCC president Jayadev Jena, Niranjan Patnaik, Sarat Patnaik and Kanhu Charan Lenka and many others.

The polls will be held in five phases, February 13, 15, 17, 19 and 21. Polling on each of these five days will start at 7 am and go on till 12 noon. Counting will commence at 1 pm and go on till completion. Nomination of papers will begin from January 11.

Elections will be held to 853 seats in the Zilla Parishads, 6,665 seats in the panchayat samitis, 6,801 sarpanches and 92,029 wards. Fifty per cent of the seats are reserved for women.